Raiders finalize 53-man roster without Jelani Jenkins


The Oakland Raiders released their 53-man roster for the 2017-18 season Saturday, cutting 36 players over two days in preparation for Saturday’s deadline.

Eight of the Raiders’ nine draft picks made the Week 1 roster, with 7th-rounder Elijah Hood being the odd man out. The most senior player Oakland cut was IK Enemkpali, a four-year vet drafted by the Jets in 2014.

Jelani Jenkins was one of the bigger surprises of the day. The Raiders sent the linebacker to the injured reserve list with a groin strain, according to the Las Vegas Review-Journal’s Michael Gehlken, but Jenkins apparently has different plans, tweeting Saturday afternoon:

Gehlken suggested the five-year vet could sign an injury settlement and play for a different team this season.

The full list of cuts is as follows:


OL Kareem Are
RB George Atkinson III
CB Breon Borders
DT Paul Boyette
WR K.J. Brent
T Chauncey Briggs
DE Fadol Brown
TE Pharoah Brown
LB Shilique Calhoun
S Anthony Cioffi
RB John Crockett
CB Kenneth Durden
LS Andrew East
LB/DE IK Enemkpali
LB Najee Harris
WR Keon Hatcher
TE Gabe Holmes
RB Elijah Hood
CB Chris Humes
DL Brandon Jackson
S Rickey Jefferson
LB/DE Rufus Johnson
LB LaTroy Lewis
S Marcus McWilson
TE Ryan O’Malley
G Oni Omoile
LB Brady Sheldon
G Ian Silberman
G Jordan Simmons
K Giorgio Tavecchio
WR Isaac Whitney
LB Xavier Woodson-Luster
WR Ishmael Zamora


TE Cooper Helfet


WR Jaydon Mickens

Waived/non-football injury

LB Ben Heeney

Injured reserve

LB Jelani Jenkins

As for the players that will break camp with Oakland, the roster looks like this for now:

QB (3): Derek Carr, EJ Manuel, Connor Cook
RB (3): Marshawn Lynch, Jalen Richard, DeAndre Washington
FB (1): Jamize Olawale
WR (5): Seth Roberts, Michael Crabtree, Johnny Holton, Cordarrelle Patterson, Amari Cooper
TE (3): Lee Smith, Jared Cook, Clive Walford
OT (4): Jylan Ware, David Sharpe, Donald Penn, Marshall Newhouse
OG (4): Gabe Jackson, Kelechi Osemele, Vadal Alexander, Denver Kirkland
C (2): Rodney Hudson, Jon Feliciano
DT (4): Darius Latham, Justin Ellis, Treyvon Hester, Eddie Vanderdoes
DE (2): Khalil Mack, Mario Edwards Jr.
LB (6): Nicholas Morrow, James Cowser, Bruce Irvin, Marquel Lee, Cory James, Tyrell Adams
CB (6): Sean Smith, Gareon Conley, Dexter McDonald, David Amerson, Antonio Hamilton, TJ Carrie
DB (1): Keith McGill II
S (4): Obi Melifonwu, Shalom Luani, Reggie Nelson, Karl Joseph
K (1): Sebastian Janikowski
P (1): Marquette King
LS (1): Jon Condo


LB Aldon Smith

Underwater Bay Bridge demolition begins

Previous article

Alleged knife-wielding BART rider arrested

Next article

You may also like

More in NFL