Bay residents win 40th annual SF Marathon


Two Bay Area residents, one from Marin County and one from the Peninsula, won the 40th annual San Francisco Marathon, a race spokeswoman announced Sunday morning.

Jorge Maravilla, 39, of Mill Valley, won the men’s marathon in 2:28:23, and Devin McMahon, 25, of Stanford, won the women’s marathon in 2:52:49, according to the spokeswoman.

Michelle LaFrance, vice president of the San Francisco Marathon, said in a statement:

“We’d like to congratulate the winners of the 2017 races and all the runners from near and far who participated in this year’s races.”

Maravilla, the winner of the men’s marathon, is an El Salvador native and general manager at the San Francisco Running Company. McMahon is a PhD student in earth system science at Stanford University, the spokeswoman said.

The marathon raised more than $300,000 for charity.


Giants rally back in fourth, walk-off in 12th

Previous article

Body of Tomales Bay Oyster Co. owner believed to be found

Next article


Comments are closed.

You may also like

More in News